Events and Announcements

Registrar/Student Services Announcement

Dispute Resolution Society Executive Board Announced

We are excited to announce the 2015 Dispute Resolution Society Executive Board. Vice President: Celine Aka Vice President of Treasury: Jim Ransdell Vice President of Communication: Natalia Szlarb Vice President of Community Events: Sam Stragand 1L Representatives: Eric Larson and Elliot Raeven LLM Representative: Witny Tanod

Sponsored by Dispute Resolution Society
For more information, contact Natlia Szlarb at

Scholarship, Grant & Contest Announcements

Apply to the Civic Engagement Fund

The Gephardt Institute's Civic Engagement Fund provides support for service projects and community engagement events throughout the year. All students, faculty, and staff are eligible to apply for group or individual service projects. Funding amounts are variable based on the budget, duration, and scope of the project. Interested applicants should schedule an intake interview with the Gephardt Institute by February 13th. Applications are due on February 27th. Visit for more details.

Sponsored by Gephardt Institute
For more information, contact Gephardt Institute at or (314) 935-9104

Empowering Women in Law Scholarship

The Pearce Law Firm in Philadelphia is pleased to offer The Pearce Law Firm Empowering Women In Law Scholarship. This scholarship opportunity is open to women nationwide who are currently attending a law school in the United States. This scholarship is intended to encourage & support outstanding achievement & leadership by example from women in the field of law. This award will be presented to a current female law student for the following academic year in the amount of $2,000.00 and will be paid at the beginning of the fall semester (2016). See more at:

Sponsored by The Pearce Law Firm
For more information, contact Carrie Burns at or (314) 93-54605

The 2015 Ed Mendrzycki Essay Contest

The winner of the Mendrzycki Essay Contest will be awarded a cash prize of $5,000, as well as an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., in April 2015, which will include admission to the Committee's National Legal Malpractice Conference. This year's hypothetical involves liability issues arising from the breach of a law firm's computer network and the subsequent leaking of a client's confidential information. Entries must be received by February 20, 2015. For more information, please visit

Sponsored by ABA and Long and Levit LLP
For more information, contact Carrie Burns at or (314) 935-4605

2015 Donald O'Brien Scholarship Award

Judge Donald E. O'Brien is a Senior Federal Judge in the Northern District of Iowa. The Donald O'Brien Scholarship Award provides recognition and financial assistance to a first or second year law student who best demonstrates a commitment to the passions of its namesake: public interest, service, civil rights and other areas benefiting society's less fortunate. The application is only open to seventeen (17) law schools in Iowa and all of its contiguous states. The deadline for submission is Monday, April 20, 2015. For application, please contact Carrie Burns

Sponsored by Donald O'Brien Scholarship Fund
For more information, contact Carrie Burns at or (314) 935-4605

International Association of Defense Counsel 2015 Legal Writing Contest

The International Association of Defense Counsel 2015 Legal Writing Contest is open to students who are enrolled as J.D. candidates in accredited law schools. Entries should be on a subject of practical concern to lawyers engaged in the defense or management of the defense of civil litigation, such as relevant aspects of tort law, insurance law, civil procedure, evidence, damages, alternative dispute resolution procedures, and professional ethics. Entries must be received by Friday, May 15, 2015. Please go to for contest rules.

Sponsored by IADC
For more information, contact Carrie Burns at or (314) 935-4605

2015 Tannenwald Writing Competition

Named for the late Tax Court Judge Theodore Tannenwald, Jr., and designed to perpetuate his dedication to legal scholarship of the highest quality, the Tannenwald Writing Competition is open to all full or part-time law school students. Papers on any federal or state tax-related topic may be submitted in accordance with the competition rules Deadline for submitting papers is 9:00 p.m., EDT, July 1, 2015.

Sponsored by The American College of Tax Counsel and the Theodore Tannenwald, Jr. Foundation for Excellence in Tax Scholarship
For more information, contact Carrie Burns at or (314) 935-4605

Buckfire & Buckfire 2015 Law Student Diversity Scholarship

Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. is offering a $2,000 scholarship award to a law student who is either a member of an ethnic, racial, or other minority or demonstrates the commitment to issues of diversity within their academic career. The deadline to apply is May 31, 2015. Apply at .

Sponsored by Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C.
For more information, contact Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. at

Student Updates

Call for Applicants: Dagen-Legomsky Fellowships

The Law School's Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute awards fellowships each year to students for summer work in the field of international or comparative law. The Dagen-Legomsky Hague Fellowship is an award of one full-tuition scholarship to The Hague Academy of International Law during the summer. Sponsored by the International Court of Justice, this intensive three-week summer course is indisputably the world's premier summer program in international law. Its faculty includes the leading international law scholars in the world. The Dagen-Legomsky Summer Public Interest Fellowship provides financial support to students each summer in support of public interest work abroad. Applicants submit a statement of interest and a proposed placement. The deadline for both fellowships is February 4th. Please click the following link for details on how to apply for these exciting international law opportunities:

Sponsored by The Harris Institute
For more information, contact Madaline George at or (314) 935-3379